Islamic Faith and CBD: Is CBD Halal or Haram?
Is CBD Halal?
A tricky one that, and as often is the case with religion, a question that can be interpreted differently depending on who you ask.
However, there are some facts of the matter you should be aware of when determining if CBD is halal. Luckily for you, we’ve consulted several sources to help you decide.
So read on to find your answers!
Table of Contents
First, What Is CBD?
To begin to understand whether CBD is permissible to consume in the Islamic faith, it is first important to understand exactly what CBD is.
CBD (Cannabidiol) is a compound that will often be referred to as a cannabinoid, and is found in cannabis and hemp plants. Along with CBD, there are many other components found in cannabis and hemp plants such as terpenes. Terpenes are also found in many other aromatic plants and woods.
You can also find flavonoids. These are what give cannabis and hemp their taste and smell.
One of the most known and controversial cannabinoids found in cannabis plants is THC (Tetrahydrocannabinol). THC is the substance in Cannabis plants that causes psychoactivity, or what makes a person feel “high.”
Seeing that CBD comes from Cannabis plants, many people confuse it for a drug or psychotropic substance because of the THC associated with it. In order for any CBD products to be sold legally, they cannot contain any more than 1mg of THC or CBN.
CBD is said to have many different types of benefits, but none of these benefits have been clinically approved yet and research still remains in preclinical stages. Therefore, no one can say that CBD is going to help you in any way to treat, cure or aid in any medical issues.
However, what we do know is that CBD products contain many different nutrients, such as fatty acids, vitamins, minerals, and in some cases terpenes and flavonoids; which can all be of great aid to a person’s daily nutritional intake.
Can CBD Make You “High”?
As mentioned above, THC (Tetrahydrocannabinol) is the sole component in cannabis that produces psychoactive effects on the body and creates that “high” feeling. This means that there is no chance of you experiencing any mind-altering effects associated with cannabis from CBD. This also rings true for any products that contain the 0.2% THC limit because of the negligible amount of THC.
As long as the CBD products have been purchased from reputable shops and sellers that can prove the THC content, you can rest assured that there is no chance of feeling “high”.
Many who are concerned about CBD being Halal will argue that any products with 0.2% THC would not be Halal because even any amount of THC would be wrong. If this is a concern to you, then you may want to look for products that are made from CBD Isolate (CBD that has been isolated), or that advertise having Zero THC.
Separating CBD from THC and other components is a tedious process that requires specialised equipment, operators and testing machines, to ensure the procedure has been done correctly. That is why it is very important to source your CBD from reliable companies and brands because they have the means and equipment to isolate CBD. Many of them will also do third-party lab testing to prove the contents of CBD and THC.
Any reputable CBD brand will have third party lab reports to prove the contents of their products. A third party lab report is when the product has been sent to a lab that specialises in testing CBD products and is not associated with any specific brand. This way there is no bias, and you can trust what is listed on the results.
Is CBD Halal?
CBD can be considered Halal, since it is similar to other plant extracts that are used in everyday life, such as essential oils (i.e. lavender oil) or cooking oil. This means it cannot be technically categorised as Khamr.
However, many believe that when choosing a CBD product to use, you should make sure that it is 100% free of THC and that you personally feel right about taking it.
When in doubt…
A very common teaching in the Islamic faith is that when in doubt, it is better to abstain. When it comes to CBD, it is best that you personally do some thorough research for yourself and talk to your local scholars about CBD.
It is very important that taking CBD is in line with your personal beliefs and that you personally feel comfortable with it. We would never want anyone to take anything that interferes with their beliefs and values, so we won’t make any suggestions that would do so.
A great tip for finding CBD products which have no traces of THC is looking to trusted brands or shops; either of which can be found online or on the high street.
Many of these products are made with CBD Isolate or are referred to as Broad Spectrum. CBD Isolate is as it sounds, the CBD compound isolated from any other components of the cannabis and hemp plants. While Broad Spectrum products will still have other compounds from hemp plants (i.e. terpenes and flavanoids) yet will still be THC free.
All of these products will also advertise themselves as THC free. Many will even have lab reports to prove so. You will find that there are many places which sell CBD free of THC, and you’ll be able to find the perfect product for you.
Are Certain Methods of CBD Consumption Haram?
The first thing we recommend to anyone looking for Halal CBD is to only buy lab-tested CBD. That way you can see on the report exactly what is in the product. It will list if there are any traces of THC as well as any solvents.
An additional concern has been raised when it comes to the many methods of consumption of CBD such as oils, sweets, edibles, tablet vaping and more. Let’s look at them one by one and work out what CBD consumption methods are Halal:
For the majority of CBD Oils, you can be confident that they are Halal. Due to the main ingredients being a hemp extract that contains CBD (which is halal), plus a carrier oil. This is what we recommend purchasing if you want to be the most confident that you are consuming a Halal product.
However, like with alcohol-based medicine, if there is an alternative with no traces of alcohol, it should be taken. This means that Muslims seeking to use CBD should use CBD Oils that are made with CBD isolate or listed as Zero THC, and do not contain any traces THC. Here are a few products that we would recommend:
These all contain no THC as they are made from CBD Isolate, and are also Vegan. This way, you can be sure that they are Halal!
Some CBD edibles are Haram due to the gelatin which has been used in them. Therefore we recommend staying away from CBD gummies unless you can be certain they are gelatin-free. For example, if they are listed as vegan/vegetarian. However, there are still many vegan CBD Edibles to be found that would be considered Halal such as CBD Chocolates.
CBD Tablets or Capsules
Again, with CBD Capsules gelatin is the main concern, so we would recommend buying vegan/vegetarian CBD tablets to be sure they are Halal and gelatin free.
CBD vaping is a complicated one as generally e-cigarettes are considered Haram due to the nicotine in them which makes them prohibited. However, the vast majority of CBD vapes and e-liquids are free from nicotine. Nonetheless, this doesn’t mean that vaping is seen as a Halal method of CBD consumption. Even if it is indeed free of nicotine and other harmful substances, you still should not smoke or vape it. This is because it is imitating sinners, and the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said: “Whoever imitates a people is one of them.” Narrated by Abu Dawood (4031).
CBD Isolate Crystals
You can buy CBD Isolate Crystals, however, you cannot do much with them, without working them into other products which contain oils or fats. This is the purest and most untainted form of CBD and is Halal. However, due to the extra work required to dose CBD Crystals and make them into a consumable form without vaping them, we wouldn’t recommend it to most people.
Our Top Tips to Ensure You’re Buying Halal CBD
- Buy Lab-Tested CBD which explicitly states it has no traces of THC
- Ensure it is vegan or vegetarian CBD or states that it is gelatin-free
- Buy CBD that states it is Broad Spectrum, made from CBD Isolate or is THC Free